Jermie Hunt left military life behind after 16 years to pursue a possible second career in the information technology sector.
Hunt, 37, of Yukon, was based at Tinker Air Force Base for 13 years. He was a crew chief for aircraft maintenance retired as an E6 Tech Sergeant.
He said he enrolled in Canadian Valley Technology Center’s Computer Information Systems program because computers are a part of all industries. Hunt served as president of his morning class at CV Tech and as parliamentarian in the afternoon class. Adults have the option of attending all day, and most complete coursework in 10 months.
For his exemplary achievements and character, Hunt is the CV Tech Foundation Outstanding Scholar. The Foundation honors both an adult and high school student at each of CV Tech’s campuses with a $1,000 cash award. A staff committee selects winners based on interviews.
The announcement and brief biography of Hunt’s accomplishments drew a standing ovation from nearly 3,000 people attending CV Tech’s recent completion ceremony at Yukon Fine Arts Auditorium.
“This is a great program, and I made a great school choice,” he said. “My mom and dad drove up from Texarkana. When they saw the standing ovation I received, they were taken aback by it.”
This year’s high school scholar recipient at the El Reno Campus is Anjalina Thomas, of Yukon. She served as a CV Tech Ambassador (similar to student council), was president of her afternoon Pre-Engineering class. Thomas is a National Merit Finalist and Academic All State honoree.
The high school recipient at the Cowan Campus is Caitlyn DeTar, of Piedmont. DeTar completed Health Careers. She among the first to take advantage of new pre-nursing coursework designed to help students complete the post-secondary Practical Nursing program faster. She plans to pursue a bachelor’s degree in nursing and to become a nurse anesthetist.
The Cowan Campus post-secondary scholar recipient is Tyler Moxley, of Yukon. He enrolled at CV Tech in 2009 and has since been working in healthcare. He enrolled in Practical Nursing with hopes to prepare for to pursue a bachelor’s degree in nursing in college. Moxley, who works two jobs and attends classes, wants to upgrade his skills and career to provide for his wife and three children.
Additional award winners include John Rider, of Mustang, who received a $1,000 award named in memory of National Technical Honor Society founder Jon Poteat. Two students received $250 from the CV Tech Foundation as recipients of the Superintendent’s Meritorious Award. They are Lauren Toska, of Mustang, and LillyAnne Seewald, a home school student graduate from El Reno.
Three awards are presented in memory of beloved former instructors. The Faith, Hope and Love awards are given in memory of Darlene Koos, who taught both Practical Nursing (PN) and Health Careers. Those recipients of $200 are Kami Scates, of Yukon and MacKenna Johnson, of Piedmont. Luke Hendershot, of El Reno, received the $250 Howard Griffin Memorial HVAC award, and Lily Mosisa, of Yukon, is the recipient of the $100 Marvin Novak Memorial award. Novak was the school’s first board president in the late 1960s. He helped plan for the school’s opening in 1970.