OBU’s 2024 nursing graduates were honored Friday during the Pinning and Lamp-Lighting Ceremony at Immanuel Baptist Church in Shawnee.
Dr. Stephanie Parker, chair of the School of Nursing, is shown with graduating nursing student Alexis Sprenger during the Pinning and Lamp Lighting Ceremony.

Oklahoma Baptist University honored its class of graduating nurses during the School of Nursing’s Pinning and Lamp Lighting Ceremony held Friday, May 17, at Immanuel Baptist Church in Shawnee.
Dr. Stephanie Parker, chair of the OBU School of Nursing, welcomed the graduates and guests to the ceremony. Dr. Larinee Dennis, dean of business, health, science and education, led the invocation. OBU President Dr. Heath A. Thomas offered opening remarks and shared a brief word of congratulations with the graduating nurses.
Dr. Rebecca Coon, former assistant professor of nursing for OBU, delivered the address to graduates. She currently is a visiting professor at Chamberlain University and homeschools her children. Coon received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Southern Nazarene University in Bethany and her master’s degree from the University of Oklahoma. She completed her doctorate in 2022 at the University of Alabama and focused her research on “New Nurse Educator Transition.” When practicing as a bedside nurse, Coon worked in pediatrics at OU Children’s primarily in the medical unit, intensive care unit and the float pool.
Dr. Megan Smith, associate professor of nursing, discussed the significance of the ceremony.
Graduating nurses then received their pins from Dr. Parker, including Chloe Ainsworth, Bokoshe; Savannah Auwen, El Reno; Emma Barnett, Kingfisher; Claire Barrett, Owasso; Sydney Bell, Bixby; Anna Black, Ardmore; Haleigh Buse, Graham, Texas; Gracie Carroll, Claremore; Jacob Chesley, Edmond; Jamie Cusack, Oklahoma City; Katelyn Dennis, Norman; Samantha Donato, McAlester; Megan Gallagher, The Woodlands, Texas; Hannah Henry, Oklahoma City; Taylor Hicks, Byars; Emma Lokey, Richardson, Texas; Sarah Lucas, Bixby; Kamryn Manlapig, Shawnee; Chloe McKnight, Collinsville; Gracey Means, Edmond; Carly Meritt, Edmond; Meghan Miller, Okemah; Makenzy Morgan, Corinth, Texas; Haley Myers, Edmond; Emily Nelson, Woodward; Damaris Pitsch, Soldotna, Alaska; London Roberts, Oklahoma City; Kathline Seward, Duncan; Rylee Simmons, Choctaw; Alexis Sprenger, Golden, Colorado; Juliana Storer, Noble; Kaylee Swaner, Rockwall, Texas; Bailee Terry, Ringwood; McKenna Trautwein, Brighton, Colorado; Diana Trejo, Oklahoma City; Kennedy Valdez, Tulsa; Emma Vernon, Harrah; Brianne Winner, Moore; Brashe Wood, Oklahoma City; and Skylar Wood, Denison, Texas.
Dr. Dawn Westbrook, associate professor of nursing, delivered the charge to the graduates, and Kathleen Kennedy, assistant professor of nursing, led the benediction.
Learn more about the OBU School of Nursing here